Sunday means goodbye

Sunday, we were once again up and at it early. I got the feeling that Richard would have rather stayed up later Saturday night and may have been somewhat disappointed that most of us were in our tents around 9 PM. What can I say, it had been a long day for me and the heat had taken its toll. Plus, at some point, the bugs have eaten too much of me and I retreat into my hammock to read myself to sleep.

Sunday was to be an easy day – 10 miles to a place called Holy Ground which is supposed to be an old Indian site that they considered to be holy.

We made great time – so much so that we slowed down purposely taking breaks waiting for the plane to show up.

Finally, we heard him and all of us gathered towards the middle of the river. The pilot made about four loops taking pictures – we hope – and then lined it up with the river and buzzed us.

I had grabbed my camera and was taking a picture when I heard a big splash to my left. Chris flipped out attempting to moon the pilot!
This was a 1945 Army observer airplane:

Chris and Richard:

Laughing and enjoying the moment:

We made our way to Holy Ground which is a day-use only park and while I unloaded my stuff, the three amigos called for their shuttle and prepared to load up.

I have to tell you that early that morning, I paddled off alone. One reason was to be a brief taste of paddling alone and the other was to take a few pictures. While I was prepared to say goodbye, I wasn’t sure how I would react to paddling alone.

My campsite – disorganized with everything spread out on the table:

Late afternoon:

At about 6 pm, a Corp of Engineers ranger walked through and I introduced myself to him. I wasn’t sure if I would receive permission to camp there that night but they were already aware that someone from Arizona was passing through. The ranger gave me his business card and cellphone and said to call if I needed anything.

He also told the civilian employee that it was ok for me to camp there that night so at 7 pm, when the park closed, I was allowed to stay. The civilian came by to see if I needed anything and told me that no one would bother me since they lock the gates at night.

It was kind of cool – and lonely being the only one there. I enjoyed the peace and quiet!

Leave a Reply

