Rando – humor and why I do it

As you may have heard, our Last Chance experience was tough.

Very tough – especially for a first-timer like me!

The first day was rainy and cold.  Someone mentioned windy but I didn’t notice that too much.  I was too cold to feel it.

Upon the return, I was exchanging messages with two buddies on Facebook and we were reminiscing about the event itself.

I posted the following comment:

 I decided to take a nap beside a busy highway last night. For old times sake.

A new friend, Patrick Chin-Hong, posted:

I decided to pour ice cubes and cold water down my shirt for a few hours while hunching over a strong fan. For old time’s sake.

Lastly, Bill Russell took us home with:

I decided to take psychedelic drugs and narcotics together. For old time’s sake.

There it is – three different riders, three different takes!  That, to me, is what randonneuring is about.  Everyone has a different take on it.

At my office, my co-workers and boss have asked me why I do this.   They don’t understand the appeal of riding 750-miles on something like 7 hours of sleep spaced over 90 hours.

I’m the first to admit, that I didn’t understand it myself until it was done and then I discovered the appeal  – the feeling of accomplishment was unbelievable.

The NY Times published an article years ago that running can make you high and described endorphins as the brain’s “naturally occurring opiates.”

Having experienced that feeling, I can understand the monkey on the back of addicts – I want it again.  And again.  And again.  The desire is almost overwhelming – but not enough to do something illegal.  Instead, I’ve tentatively penciled in the Texas Rando Stampede 1200 on May 1, 2013.

When my life on this earth is done, I’ll be cremated.  If I were buried, I wouldn’t be surprised if this were chiseled into my tombstone:

They laughed at me because I was different….

          ….I laughed at them because they were all the same.

Be different – it’s OK!

Leave a Reply

